$2.00 for two, and filling!

Standard

Black Bean Soup.  I ❤ it!  My soldier gives this recipe a 10 out of 10 and it is EASY!!!

This recipe will feed two, but is incredibly easy to double.  Note, I am not a spicy food person, you can easily add some red pepper ( a dash or two) if you want your soup to have a little pep.

1 can black beans (.89)

2-3 green onions chopped (.25)

Chicken stalk, enough to barely cover beans (.50)

(grand total $1.64)

  1. Drain about half the liquid off the beans.  Saving a little will make your soup thicker.
  2. I put the black beans in a sauce pan and then add the chicken stalk, I add enough to cause beans to rise.  Sorta like put milk in cereal.  If I had to guess I’d say it’s about 1/4 a cup?
  3. Then I add the scallions and bring the mixture to a boil.
  4. Once it boils I simmer it for about 20 min.
  5. add a dollop of sour cream and VIOLA!  you’re a chef.  Okay, not really, but you can pretend.
  6. Serve
  7. You can add an apple, some carrots, Snack people, or a biscuit as a side (.25-.75).  Today we are having some of my homemade bread with butter and jam as our side.
Penny for your thoughts...

