Beef stew without the stew

Standard

So this is another cheap recipe, and a one dish meal.  I love one dish meals, less clean up! ($4.50 w/0 biscuits, $6.00 w/store-bought biscuits)

+/- 1 lb of stew meat.  (you can almost always find this on Manager’s special!)

2-3 potatoes chopped into “chunks”

2-3 carrots peeled and chopped

1/2 an onion chopped

seasoning (I add fresh basil and rosemary that I keep potted in the house.  Rosemary is especially hard to kill.  In fact, the Rosemary plant I have currently sitting on my dining room table is the only survivor of this summer’s “plant graveyard”, my eldest son’s name for my garden.)

In a Casserole dish, Layer the veggies on bottom.  You can add whatever types of stew veggies you’d like.  Don’t limit yourself to what’s listed here! Now, layer the meat on top.

Sprinkle the seasonings on top of the meat.

*COVER WITH TINFOIL*

bake on 350* for 20-30 min.

serve.

As a side you can add store-bought biscuits, to save time, or fresh  bread, to save money.  There is enough food here to feed all 4 of us TWICE, so you won’t need many side dishes.

This one gets a 7 out 10 from my Soldier, and a 5 out of 10 from my boys (it has veggies so go figure!)

Penny for your thoughts...

